Four Teams, 37 Student-Athletes Earn ITA Academic Awards

Four Teams, 37 Student-Athletes Earn ITA Academic Awards

TEMPE, Ariz. -- The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) released the 2019 All-Academic Teams and Scholar Athletes Tuesday and four Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference programs and 37 student-athletes were recognized.

Austin College was recognized as All-Academic teams on both the men's and women's side. The Southwestern University men and Trinity University women were also recognized.

The 'Roos made up 16 of the 37 athletes honored, while Southwestern accounted for 11. Trinity followed with 10 scholar athletes.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2018 and spring 2019).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

A list of the SCAC Scholar Athletes is below.


Austin College
Safe Abdel-Rahman
Gabriel Caldwell-Nepveux
Matthew Cochran
William Crouch
Travis Fortune
Joshua Granberry 
Kenneth Hardy
Siddharth Kortikere
Preston Spivey

Southwestern University
Hunter Bajoit
Kyle Brown
Alexis Dimanche
Carlos Esteban
Alonso Fernandez
Alex Joseph
Tyler Norman
Tashawn Treadwell

Trinity University
Cameron Krimbill
Lars Wiik
Artur Zigman

Click here to see the full list of 2018-19 Division III Men's ITA Scholar-Athletes.  

Austin College
Diana Carvajalino
Melody Duong
Chandler Lee
Brenna McCown
Georgia Moore
Anna Sergiovanni
Kirsten Weber 
Mariana Quetzeri
Meeshti Shethia
Francesca Canjar
Ashley Debauge
Hailey Feuer
Mary Kaffen
Zoe Kaffen
Hannah Rafferty
Abigail Watson 
Click here to see the full list of 2018-19 Division III Women's ITA Scholar-Athletes.