LAWRENCEVILLE, Ga. -- After earning championships in three of the league's eight spring sports and second-place finishes in two more, the 2017-18 SCAC Presidents' Trophy will remain in San Antonio as Trinity University captured its seventh consecutive all-sports title.

The seven straight Presidents' Trophy titles equals the longest consecutive win streak by one institution in the 56-year history of the award. Trinity also won seven straight all-sports trophies from 1993-94 through 1999-00. It is the program's conference-record 18th all-sports title. 

The Texas Tigers collected titles in men's and women's tennis, as well as women's track and field, and placed second in women's golf and men's track and field, to assure that the 300-pound railroad bell signifying conference supremacy stays in San Antonio for yet another year.

For the 2017-18 season, Trinity won 10 of the league's 17 championships, adding to its men's and women's swimming and diving and women's basketball titles from the winter and its men's and women's soccer and men's and women's cross country titles from the fall.

Trinity finished with 500 points in this year's Presidents' Trophy race, 100 points clear of second-place Southwestern University. The Pirates, who finished with 400 points and accumulated more Presidents Trophy points during the spring sports seaosn than any other institution, captured both the men's and women's golf championships last month. Southwestern's strong spring catapulted them from third to second place in the final standings.

Texas Lutheran also improved one place from the winter standings, finishing in third with 335 points. The Bulldogs won three championships in the spring - men's track and field, softball and baseball - and continued the institution's streak of at least three conference championships in each of its five years in the league.

Colorado College slipped from second to fourth in the final standings and finished with 292.5 points. The Tigers, who won their one team championship in 2017-18 the sport of volleyball, field a squad in just four of the eight conference-sponsored spring championships to account for much of their drop in the final standings.

Rounding out the standings, Austin College finished in fifth with 220 points, and Centenary College posted its best program finish since 2013-14 with 200 points and a sixth-place finish.

Schriener University, which won its first-ever SCAC men's basketball title during the winter, was seventh with 197.5 points and the University of Dallas finished eighth with 150 points.

2017-18 SCAC Presidents' Trophy - Final Standings


The symbol of conference supremacy is the 300-pound railroad bell which was donated to the SCAC by the Norfolk and Western Railroad. This bell, the "Presidents' Trophy", is a rotating award and goes to the school with the best overall sports record for the year.

The bell has been a part of the conference since its inception in 1962. In fact, the first conference logo, when the league was known as the College Athletic Conference, has the image of the bell incorporated into it.

The Presidents' Trophy is displayed for one year on the campus of the school with the combined men's and women's athletics program that accumulates the highest points total in the all-sports race.

The system used for distributing Presidents' Trophy points was tweaked beginning with the 2010-11 academic year. Points will now be awarded from the bottom up, instead of the top down as had been the case. A last place finish in any particular sport is worth 5 points with points being awarded in five point increments for each place, up to first place.



SCAC Presidents' Trophy - Archived Year-by-Year Results
1962-63 1963-64 1964-65 1965-66 1966-67 1967-68 1968-69 1969-70 1970-71
1971-72 1972-73 1973-74 1974-75 1975-76 1976-77 1977-78 1978-79 1979-80
1980-81 1981-82 1982-83 1983-84 1984-85 1985-86 1986-87 1987-88 1988-89
1989-90 1990-91 1991-92 1992-93 1993-94 1994-95 1995-96 1996-97 1997-98
1998-99 1999-00 2000-01 2001-02 2002-03 2003-04 2004-05 2005-06 2006-07
2007-08 2008-09 2009-10 2010-11 2011-12 2012-13 2013-14 2014-15 2015-16