Trinity Earns 15th Consecutive SCAC Women's Swimming & Diving Championship

Trinity Earns 15th Consecutive SCAC Women's Swimming & Diving Championship

THE COLONY, Texas - Trinity University picked up three individual titles as well as a victory in the 400 free relay to lock up its 15th consecutive conference title at the 2018 SCAC Women's Swimming & Diving Championship which wrapped up Saturday evening at the East Side LISD. Official Website | Complete Results | Photo Gallery

Trinity finished with 1,025 points - the second consecutive year the Tigers have posted 1,000+ points at the conference championship meet. Colorado College was second with 953 points and Southwestern University was third with 604. McMurry University, which joined the SCAC as an affiliate member in 2015, posted its highest-ever finish at fourth with 282 points. Rounding out the standings, Centenary College finished fifth with 244 points, Austin College was sixth with 224 points and University of the Ozarks finished seventh with 125 points.

The Tigers found the top spot on the awards podium early as senior Christine Peterson completed the diving sweep with a victory on the 1-meter board. Her final score of 407.00 was good for first and she wrapped up SCAC Diver-of-the-Meet with the performance. Colorado College took the next five positions, which included all-SCAC scores from Mary Rose Donahue (387.75) and Riley Wadehra (352.10).

Trinity's Payton Green earned the program's sixth straight win in the 1,650 freestyle as she earned victory with a finishing time of 17:58.49. Colorado College's Emily Harrison and India Phillips finished second and third, respectively, in times of 18:18.92 and 18:37.64.

Two SCAC seniors ended their conference careers on high notes.

McMurry's Robyn Remschel became the first female swimmer in SCAC history to win three consecutive titles in the 100 and 200 backstroke - completing that trifecta with Saturday's victory in the 200 back. Her finishing time of 2:00.02 not only established a NCAA 'B' cut standard but also broke her own SCAC championship and open mark she set in 2016. Trinity's Mabel Fowler finished second in 2:03.37, also posting a NCAA 'B' cut time, and her teammate Paige Johnson was third in 2:07.52.

Trinity's Lindsay Hagmann, the two-time SCAC defending Female Swimmer-of-the-Meet, picked up her seventh individual title with a victory in the 100 free. It was her third career victory in the event and she established a NCAA 'B' cut standard with her winning time of 51.51. Colorado College's Justina Zuckerman was second in 52.71 and Trinty's Lauren Cuda was third in 52.73.

Southwestern's freshman phenom Rehgan Hartsell picked up her third victory of the meet when she placed first in the 200 breast with a SCAC championship meet record time of 2:20.52. After winning titles in the 200 IM on Thursday and the 100 breast on Friday (also in SCAC championship record time), Hartsell earned SCAC Female Swimmer-of-the-Meet honors - the first Southwestern swimmer to ever earn the honor. Colorado College teammates Emily Erickson and Emileigh Rafidi rounded out the all-conference performances with finishes of 2:28.21 and 2:29.87, respectively.

Fellow Pirate freshman Breely Peterson kept SU on the top spot of the awards podium with a first-place finish in the 200 butterfly. She won the event in a time of 2:12.74. Three-time defending champion Ellen Silk placed second in a time of 2:13.48 and her teammate Jio Chang was third in 2:14.02.

Trinity closed out its title night with a victory in the 400 freestyle relay. The team of Hagmann, Abbie Jones, Cuda and Star Rosales set a new SCAC championship meet and open record with a finishing time of 3:29.09. The time was also good for a NCAA 'B' cut qualifier. Colorado College placed second in a time of 3:35.18 and Southwestern was third in 3:38.05.

Following the meet, the Trinity University staff - led by first-year head coach Scott Trompeter, along with head diving coach Stan Randall, assistant coach John Ryan and assistant coach Kimberly Jones - earned SCAC Women's Coaching Staff-of-the-Year honors. It was fourth consecutive year the program had been so honored and 10th time overall.