21 SCAC Men's Basketball Student-Athletes Named to NABC Honors Court

21 SCAC Men's Basketball Student-Athletes Named to NABC Honors Court

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) today announced the 2016-17 NABC Honors Court, recognizing those men's collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during the past season. The Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference was represented by 21 student-athletes.

The student-athletes hail from six of the league's eight member schools, including Austin College, Centenary College, University of Dallas, Southwestern University, Texas Lutheran University and Trinity University.

Last week, Colorado College, Southwestern and Trinity earned the NABC Team Academic Excellence award.

The NABC Honors Court recognizes the talents and gifts that these men possess off the court and the hard work they exhibit in the classroom. 

Below are the 21 SCAC student-athletes who were recognized:

Austin College
Brian Baehl
Joshua Dickerman
Austin Freet
Eghosa Igbinosa
Andres Rivera
Jeremy Swisher
John Pass
Joshua Quinn

Centenary College
James Sapp

University of Dallas
Alex Borse
Lorenzo Gonzalez
Tom Kaiser
Rory McCallum
Solomon Berezin

Southwestern University
Ben Stiver
Chris Molina
Ryan Ogden
Connor Kim

Texas Lutheran University
Jordan Kouremetis
Matthew Gillette

Trinity University
Matthew Jones

In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications are as follows:

1. Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player.
2. Cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2016-17 academic year.
3. Students must have matriculated at least one year at their current institution.
4. Member of a NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Division I or II institution with a NABC member coach.

Click here to see the full list of 2016-17 NABC Honors Court members.