Southwestern, Trinity Top Men's Tennis Pairs Headed to NCAA Doubles Championship

Southwestern, Trinity Top Men's Tennis Pairs Headed to NCAA Doubles Championship

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Four Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference student-athletes have been selected to attend the NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Doubles Championship held in Chattanooga, Tenn.

Southwestern University's top duo of Grant Gideon and Nickoloz Snovely were selected alongside the No. 1 team from Trinity University, Wilson Lambeth and Matt Tyer.

Gideon and Snovely, who are the first two players in Southwestern men's tennis program history to earn a spot in the NCAA Tournament, are 19-4 at the No. 1 doubles spot for Southwestern this spring. The duo have won eight of their last 10 matchups. Both also were named All-SCAC earlier this week.

Tyer and Lambeth will also enter their first NCAA Doubles Championship, though they have found a lot of success this season on the courts. Last October, the pair advanced to the Division III Doubles Championship match of the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Oracle Cup at Surprise, Arizona. Tyer and former Trinity player Adam Krull captured the doubles title at the 2015 ITA National Small College Championships.

This season, Tyer and Lambeth stand at 14-10 as a doubles team. The Trinity duo is also the top-ranked team in the ITA West Region.

Trinity senior Chas Mayer has been designated as second singles alternate for the NCAA Championship. Mayer has chalked up a record of 10-8, and is ranked 10th in the West Region. Earlier, Mayer was elected the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Men's Player of the Year. He sparked the Tigers to their eighth consecutive SCAC Championship.

For the individual championships, the national committee selected seven singles players and three doubles teams from each of the four regions. Additionally, the committee then selected the remaining four singles players and four doubles team berths from a national at-large pool. The individual championships will consist of 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams.

The selection of teams and individuals for the championships is based on win-lost record, strength of schedule and eligibility and availability of student-athletes.

The draw for the individual championship will be done by the women’s tennis committee and will be released on the last day of the team championship.

To view the full NCAA release, click here.

SCAC Spring Media Days
February 15, 2017 SCAC Spring Media Days