12 SCAC Student-Athletes and Three SCAC Institutions Earn ITA Academic Honors

12 SCAC Student-Athletes and Three SCAC Institutions Earn ITA Academic Honors

SKILLMAN, N.J. – Three Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference institutions and 12 individual women's tennis student-athletes earned academic recognition from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Thursday. Full Release

Colorado College, Texas Lutheran University and Trinity University were all named ITA All-Academic Teams.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale).

Each team also had individuals earn ITA Scholar Athlete honors. Colorado College led all SCAC schools with five student-athletes on the list, while Trinity placed four, including Elena Wilson and Gabrielle Roe who earned the honor for the second consecutive year. Texas Lutheran's Caitlin Zarr earned the award for the fourth consecutive year, while Sofia Vega continued her academic success this year with her third honor.

Vega was named to the CoSIDA/Capital One Academic All-American team earlier this summer.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters.

The following SCAC student-athletes were named ITA Scholar-Athletes:

Colorado College                               Anna Smith
Colorado College                               Fiona Cerf
Colorado College                               Kira Lorenzen
Colorado College                               Natalia Dellavalle
Colorado College                               Rachel Severson
Texas Lutheran University                 Caitlin Zarr
Texas Lutheran University                 Megan Ingram
Texas Lutheran University                 Sofia Vega
Trinity University                                Elena Wilson
Trinity University                                Liza Southwick
Trinity University                                Gabrielle Roe
Trinity University                                Nicole Rueb