Three SCAC Men's Tennis Programs Earn ITA All-Academic Team Award

Three SCAC Men's Tennis Programs Earn ITA All-Academic Team Award

SKILLMAN, N.J. – The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) named three Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference institutions 2015 ITA All-Academic Teams, while 13 men's tennis student-athletes earned the ITA Scholar-Athlete award. Full Release

Colorado College, Texas Lutheran University and Trinity University all earned the team honor.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale).

Colorado College led all SCAC schools with eight student-athletes earning the Scholar Athlete award.

Texas Lutheran's Kyle Thompson earned the honor for his third consecutive year, while Ryan Beene and Wade Dillenbeck each earned the honor for the second time in their careers. ALl three earned the award in 2014, while Thompson's first award came in 2013.

Trinity's Aaron Skinner rounded out his perfect career with his fourth ITA Scholar-Athlete award. Earlier this summer, Skinner was named the SCAC Man of the Year, becoming the first Trinity student-athlete to win the award since its creation.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters.

The following SCAC student-athletes were named ITA Scholar-Athletes:

Colorado College                               Ben Bacher
Colorado College                               Casey Shaw
Colorado College                               Duy Pham
Colorado College                               Jack Benham
Colorado College                               Jacob Peterson
Colorado College                               Jason Gutierrez
Colorado College                               John Williams
Colorado College                               Ross Sherman
Texas Lutheran University                 Kyle Thompson
Texas Lutheran University                 Ryan Beene
Texas Lutheran University                 Wade Dillenbeck
Trinity University                                Aaron Skinner
Trinity University                                Kevin Lee