Trinity to Play in NCAA West Regional in Tyler

Trinity to Play in NCAA West Regional in Tyler

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference champion Trinity University earned the league's automatic bid to the 2015 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship field of 56 teams, earning a spot in the West Regional. Complete Tournament Field | West Regional

A total of 56 teams will compete in eight double-elimination regionals and the winners of those eight regionals will qualify for the double-elimination championship at Fox Cities Stadium in Appleton, Wis., May 22-27.

The Tigers' (33-12) opponents and schedule is unknown at this time. Times for each game will be released later today. Check for further updates on scheduling of the West Regional.

Joining the Tigers in the Regional are La Verne (24-18), Linfield (30-13), former SCAC school, Millsaps (28-12), Texas-Tyler (34-10), and Whitworth (28-13). 

Trinity will make its sixth straight appearance in NCAA postseason play and the school's 10th all-time. With Trinity's first game, the Tigers will play in an SCAC record 36th NCAA tournament game. Trinity has a 16-18 record in NCAA regional play.

Four of the eight regionals feature six teams in a double-elimination format. Those four regionals include the West (Tyler, Texas)South (Demorest, Ga.)Central (Waverly, Iowa), and Mideast (Washington, Pa.).

The remaining four regionals feature eight-team regionals and are the New England (Harwich, Mass.)New York (Cortland, N.Y.)Mid-Atlantic (York, Pa.), and Midwest (La Crosse, Wis.) regionals.