Trinity's Loar; Centre's Hebbeler headline 2011 All-SCAC Women's Soccer voting

Trinity's Loar; Centre's Hebbeler headline 2011 All-SCAC Women's Soccer voting

SUWANEE, Ga. – In exclusive voting by the head women's soccer coaches of the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC), Trinity University's Abigail Loar was selected SCAC Offensive Player-of-the-Year for the second consecutive year while Centre College's Amy Hebbeler was named SCAC Defensive Player-of-the-Year. Complete Release

In the same balloting, Stephanie Segovia of Trinity University was tabbed the league's Newcomer-of-the-Year and Trinity head coach Lance Key was voted SCAC Women's Coach-of-the-Year for the third consecutive season.

Abigail Loar, a senior forward from Littleton, Colo., is currently second in the league in scoring with 21 goals and 11 assists for 53 points, including a league-high eight game-winners. A prolific scorer her entire career (she led the league in scoring in both 2009 and 2010), Loar currently sits third all-time in SCAC history for points (150) and is tied for sixth in both career goals scored (58) and career assists (33). She is just the seventh player in league history to earn First Team All-SCAC honors four consecutive years and the first since Shawna Hudson of Southwestern University (1997-2000).

Loar was the coaches' consensus choice for Offensive Player-of-the-Year as she received 10 votes in the balloting. Senior forward Alicia Plotky of Birmingham-Southern College received the remaining first-place vote.

Amy Hebbeler, a junior defender from Fort Wright, Ky., played right back and was in the attack against every team Centre played this season. The team's most consistent and impressive player on the outside, Hebbeler was the undisputed leader of the league's second-ranked defense as the Colonels allowed just 0.53 goals per game. She also chipped in on the offensive end with eight points (three goals and two assists) and helped lead Centre to the school's second-ever NCAA postseason appearance and first since 2008.

Hebbeler received four votes in the Defensive POTY voting, while Austin College junior defender Kelsey D'Amore, Trinity University first-year defender Kirby Peddicord and University of Dallas sophomore defender Emily Rogers each picked up two votes. Senior center back Lauren Metzger of Birmingham-Southern College received the remaining vote.

Stephanie Segovia, a first-year forward from Buda, Texas, is in line to become the first freshman to lead the league in scoring since Alicia Plotky of Birmingham-Southern accomplished the feat in 2008. After the first two rounds of the NCAA Tournament, Segovia has scored 23 goals (seventh-highest single-season total in SCAC history) and has totaled 54 points in her inaugural campaign in San Antonio, which includes an assist in the Tigers' second round 3-1 victory over Hardin-Simmons. She is the third Trinity player in the last four years to earn Newcomer-of-the-Year honors.

Segovia received nine votes in the Newcomer-of-the-Year voting, while first-year forward Nicole Johnson of the University of Dallas and first-year midfielder Kelsey Keown of Rhodes each received one vote for Newcomer-of-the-Year.

Lance Key, in his eighth year as head coach at Trinity, led the Tigers to their 16th SCAC championship - the sixth under Key - with an 8-0-0 conference mark and 20-0-0 overall record. The perfect regular season record is the third for the Trinity women's program (2004, 2009 and 2011) with all three coming under Key's direction. Competing in its seventh NCAA postseason tournament in the past eight years, and 17th overall, Trinity advanced to the third round this past weekend with victories over the College of St. Scholastica (5-2) and seventh-ranked and defending national champion Hardin-Simmons (3-1).

Key has posted a 128-15-10 record (.869) in his eight seasons at the helm of the women's soccer program at Trinity – giving him the highest winning percentage among anyone who has ever coached in the SCAC in any team sport. The SCAC Coach-of-the-Year award is the fifth of his career.

Key received four votes from his peers in the COTY voting. Jim Evans of Hendrix College and Jay Hoffman of Centre received three votes each, and Kristina Corona of the University of Dallas received the remaining vote.

To view the complete 2011 All-SCAC Women's Soccer Team, click here.

SCAC Week 8 - Podcasts
October 27, 2011 SCAC Week 8 - Podcasts
SCAC Week 7 - Podcasts
October 20, 2011 SCAC Week 7 - Podcasts
SCAC Week 6 - Podcasts
October 13, 2011 SCAC Week 6 - Podcasts
SCAC Week 4 - Podcasts
September 30, 2011 SCAC Week 4 - Podcasts