SCAC announces 2010 Baseball Championship Bracket

SCAC announces 2010 Baseball Championship Bracket

SUWANEE, Ga. - The Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference announced the 2010 Baseball Championship bracket today. DePauw University, Rhodes College and Oglethorpe University represent the Eastern Division while Trinity University, Millsaps College and Austin College represent the Western Division.

The six team double-elimination tournament begins Thursday, April 22 and runs through Sunday, April 25 at USA Stadium in Millington, Tenn. The winner of the tournament receives the SCAC's automatic qualifier to the NCAA Division III Baseball Championship.

Game one of the tournament features the #1 West seeded Trinity Tigers taking on the East's #3 seeded Oglethorpe Stormy Petrels. Trinity (28-7 overall, 13-4 SCAC) enters the tournament having won nine straight games and advanced to last year's championship game. Oglethorpe (19-20, 7-8 SCAC), on the other hand, enters its first SCAC tournament since the 2007 SCAC Divisional having lost six straight contests.

The second game pits the second seeds from the East and West in Rhodes and Millsaps respectively. The Lynx enter the tournanet with a 24-14 overall mark and an 8-7 SCAC mark while the Majors come to Millington with a 24-12 overall record and a 12-5 mark in SCAC play. These two teams met twice during the season with the teams splitting the two meetings. Both teams made the tournament field last season.

The final game of the opening day of the tournament has the #1 East seeded DePauw Tigers (21-15, 9-6 SCAC) tangling with the #3 seeded Austin College Kangaroos (19-18, 9-11 SCAC). DePauw returns to the SCAC tournament after last season's appearance while Austin College makes its first SCAC postseason appearance since the 2008 SCAC Divisional.

For complete information regarding the 2010 SCAC Baseball Championship (audio, video, live stats links and a printable bracket) please visit the tournament's Official Site | Bracket