Southwestern's Munt named 2008-09 Division III West Region Under Armour Athletics Director of the Year

Southwestern's Munt named 2008-09 Division III West Region Under Armour Athletics Director of the Year

(Story taken from the Southwestern University website)

ORLANDO, Fla. - Southwestern University athletics director Glada Munt has been named the 2008-09 Division III West Region Under Armour Athletics Director of the Year.

All of the award winners will be honored at the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon on Saturday, June 20, at the annual National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics Convention in Orlando, Florida.

For the past 33 years, Dr. Munt has been integral to the Southwestern University Department of Intercollegiate Athletics. In addition to serving as the Head Volleyball Coach at Southwestern for 20 years, Dr. Munt has also been involved in athletics administration for the past 20 years.

As Assistant Director of Athletics from 1988-95 and as Director of Athletics since 1995, Southwestern's athletic programs have prospered as members of the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference and the NCAA Division III. Under her leadership, student-athlete participation has increased by nearly 30%, the total budget for intercollegiate athletics has increased by more than 80%, and 15 new full-time positions have been added.  She has also been instrumental in the addition of two new varsity sports, Women's Softball and Men's Lacrosse. Furthermore, the department has added two soccer fields, a softball field, a tennis complex, and a new baseball complex.

Most recently, Dr. Munt was honored by the National Association of Collegiate Women Athletic Administrators (NACWAA) as the 2006 NCAA Division III Athletic Director of the Year.  In 2005, she was one of 12 NCAA Division III athletic administrators to be selected by the Institute for International Sport for the prestigious honor of being a Sport Ethic Fellow. For her accomplishments as a volleyball coach, she was inducted into the NAIA Hall of Fame (1990) and the Southwestern University Athletic Hall of Fame (2004). Southwestern University has honored her with various awards including the Pearl A. Neas Award and the Joe Mundy award, both for outstanding service to the institution.

Dr. Munt has not only provided her expertise for those at Southwestern, she has also been active at the national level in numerous capacities. Some of the positions that she has held during her career are: NCAA Division III representative to the Honda Awards Committee, Member of the NCAA Division III National Volleyball Committee; Chair of the NCAA Post-Graduate Scholarship South Regional Selection Committee; Member of the NAGWS Volleyball Rules Committee (1985-89); Member of the USVA Board of Directors (1984-88, Olympic Quadrennium); Member of the NAIA National Volleyball Championships Tournament Committee (1984-87); and, President of the NAIA Volleyball Coaches Association (1986-88).

Dr. Munt earned a Bachelor of Science degree from Trinity University, a Masters of Science degree from Baylor University, and a Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration from the University of North Texas.